Free Choice – February

Amaryllis – This flower represents beauty and indicates somebody’s worth beyond their beauty.

This flower is symbolic of how a person has more worth than their appearance. How a person looks on the outside is never a 100% accurate representation of how they are on the inside.

Every single person is beautiful in one way or another, because everyone’s definition of the word “beauty” is different. What one person might consider beautiful, someone else might not consider it.

Constantly, people are being judged by their outward appearance and not by how they act, because people always judge you based on the first impression they have of you. For example, someone who seems so nice and genuine on the outside could be the complete opposite and act mean to everyone.

In the same way, someone who doesn’t make a great first impression based off their appearance might be so genuine and loyal.

 

Protea, King – symbolizes transformation and change and represents diversity, courage and resourcefulness.

Transformation and change is a big part of every single persons life because at one point or another, we all have to go through a major change that can change our whole lives. Sometimes this can be positivity or negative, but both ways it will be a lesson and will teach you something new that you didn’t know before.

This flower also is representative of courage and during the process of a big change, having courage is very important so you can make it through easily. Courage will also give you the strength to keep going and push through whatever it is that you are going through.

It also represents diversity which is a major part of everyone’s lives because everyone around us is all different. I also identify with this flower because I have also had to go through some major changes early on in my life, and they have completely changed my perspective on the world. For example, I had to move to a different country with a completely different language, and with a more diverse culture. This kind of transformation will teach you a lot about the world that you may not have known before.

 

3 comments on “Free Choice – FebruaryAdd yours →

  1. Dear Celine,

    It was a pleasure getting to know you through this piece, and I can certainly say that I admire your insight into the simple things in life. You took something as simple as a flower, and made it so much more by peeling back all its layers to find the root of its perceived ‘beauty’. You had excellent use of TIP TOP as well, as each different paragraph was separated for a reason, and that is something that makes this piece that much easier to read. Perhaps my favourite bit was when you talked about moving from one lifestyle to another, and being deprived of things that were familiar to you, and being forced to readjust. Those little details create a full circle in your writing and leave the reader satisfied with what the y have just read.

    As for improvements, I would offer that you talk more about yourself and how you see yourself in the flower. Why were you drawn to these flowers above all the other? What made them stand out, and how can you use them to define your heart and soul. Also, don’t forget to cite any images you use! :O

    I would add that you focus less on the flower being its own separate identity, and connect it to people and the human condition. It evokes thought amongst your readers, and that is essential. Nonetheless, I cannot wait to see what more you have to offer from your heart and soul, and I encourage you to keep on writing because that to me is greatness. 😉

    Much love

    Tim

  2. Dear Celine,

    I would like to start off by saying how happy I am I got to read this because of the way you took a concept such as flowers, and you dug out the meaning of them. Flowers to me had always just been that. Flowers. Through your piece I started to appreciate the importance and significance of the different flowers.

    My one suggestion for this piece would be for you to add some examples from your life into some types of flowers. To me it would only enhance, not take away from this piece.

    Overall, I found your piece to truly be amazing. It gave me a new appreciation for the significance behind flowers and how a type of flower relates to everyday life. I cannot wait to read more of your wonderful writing!! 🙂

    sincerely,
    alyna

  3. Dear Celine,

    I love the approach you took on this blog post. I like how you described more than one flower to portray the message that each flower is unique just like us as individuals. My favourite part of this piece was the vocabulary you used to allow the reader to connect themselves with the flowers which made this post more relatable. I also really liked how you chose two completely different flowers to describe. Their characteristics contrasted with one another and I believe this aspect really tied your piece together

    To improve, I would recommend writing about what type of flower you think you personally portray and why. I believe that this will make the reader feel more connected with you and allow themselves to get to know you better.

    Overall, I think you did a great job on this blog post and I’d definitely read something like this again.

    Sincerely,
    Amy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *